Doc prescribe Iron Supplements & Vitamin D + Calcium and Centrum *_* too much?

• 6 Replies
Dear Dr. Andy

Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie! Joined Yesterday!  :biggrin So nice to be here! I'm so glad to come across your website!  :wink Every time I have a blood test, my OB/GYN (also my main doctor) prescribes me Iron supplements. Again, this year she prescribe Iron supplements plus Calcium + D vitamin (which seem to cancel out each other?) though she did not do lab test on my Iron levels. I'm afraid she may be over-prescribing me.  :huh Also, I exercise and bike/hike and feel great, but she thinks I'm severly anemic and wants to force me into an endometrial biopsy though my pap was normal (last week!) and no heavy bleeding/cramps, and my cycles are very regular. Should I do the invasive biopsy anyways, or change a doctor (since she won't discuss my uterine ultrasound with me until 5 min. before the biopsy she's insisting on). Thanks SO much, you really give me hope in this confusing situation! :rolleyes

Sincerely,
Sophie from California

« Last Edit: October 31, 2010, 06:04:42 PM by Andy »

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Hi Sophie,

Do you have any of your blood test results? What is your Hb level? The calcium and D are very important and calcium is not well absorbed without adequate D levels, but iron is not likely to help you and will hurt your organs if taken long term when not needed. You should tell your doctor you will not take iron unless a panel of tests called iron studies verifies that you are iron deficient. Iron can help anemia caused by iron deficiency but is useless against any other type of anemia and specifically thalassemia minor.
Andy

All we are saying is give thals a chance.

Dear Dr. Andy :hugfriend

Thank you so much for taking the time to review my thasslanemia! Here are my blood test results and flags:

RBD 5.22 (high)
Hemoglobin 8.9 (low)
Hematocrit 32.7 (low)
MCV 63 (low)
MCH 17.0 (low)
MCHC 27.2 (low)