First Hematologist Appointment

• 6 Replies
First Hematologist Appointment
« on: January 23, 2012, 04:28:50 PM »
Hi Everyone!

After procrastinating for what feels like forever, I finally made a hematologist appointment for Friday. Can anyone give me some guidance regarding which tests to request? I suspect that I am anemic in addition to being Thal minor, so I am going to request that a full iron study be done. Anything else? Like so many other Thal minors I am tired ALL THE TIME.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Doctor Dani

P.S. I'm a psychologist, not an MD. Hence my questions!

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: First Hematologist Appointment
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 04:46:26 PM »
If you are tired all the time, get your vitamin D level checked. It is the most common deficiency. Tiredness, fatigue and depression are all tied to D deficiency, and the immune system may also suffer as a result.
Andy

All we are saying is give thals a chance.

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2012, 08:04:35 PM »
Thanks Andy! Should I have anything else checked? I was diagnosed as a thal minor years ago and don't have any of that old paperwork.

Offline Andy Battaglia

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2012, 09:22:12 PM »
The hematologist may want to test for thal, just to have a better understanding of your health as a whole. Do you know if it's alpha or beta thal? The other tests that might be considered would be folate and B-12 levels, because both can cause anemia.
Andy

« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2012, 12:31:55 AM »
I don't remember them telling me, but the hematologist my brother saw diagnosed him as beta thal minor, so I assume it's the same. Would testing me again require a hemoglobin electrophoresis?

Offline Andy Battaglia

« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2012, 04:37:34 PM »
Yes, it would require hemoglobin electrophoresis. I would advise it for your own use. The percentages of the three hemoglobins does give some valuable information.
Andy