Advice needed for blood drive

• 3 Replies

Offline Christine Mary

• Mother of Lauryn, who has Thal Major
Advice needed for blood drive
« on: November 10, 2006, 10:38:57 PM »
Hi everybody,

I have pretty exciting news!!!! I work for a grocery store,Bashas. I am a Pharmacy technician (obviously in the pharmacy  :rotfl). The owner of the grocery chain,Eddie Basha, is very big in the community here in Arizona. Anyway, I was thinking of how I've written everyone possible to raise awareness on thal,donations etc... And then it dawned on me! I called the public relations dept at Bashas, and explained Lauryns situation. I proposed the idea of them sponsoring a blood drive and they loved the idea! I said it would be great publicity for Bashas, and not only can we accumulate blood, but try to raise money for research. They said they were also going to possibly contact the media to cover the event! Now, I know there are some kinks to work out, as far as going down the corporate ladder to get approval, but it looks like it may work!

Andy,

The blood that is collected from this drive, can Red Cross send it to Phoenix Childrens Hospital at my request? Do you think someone from CAF will/cana represent the foundation at this event? Do I need there permission if I mention their cause? Who should I talk to? Any advice or guidance from anyone with expierience regarding drives/fundraisers, is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Christine

Lauryn's Mom

Offline Zadkhi

• Hemoglobin H Disease
  • creativity is my lifeblood
Re: Advice needed for blood drive
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2006, 12:23:25 AM »
I'm definitely no expert at any of this, but I remember when I helped to organize non-profit fundraisers at my school, we had to get in contact with the organizations that we were supporting to let them know what we were doing.  In return, we were given literature and other odds and ends to hand out to help promote awareness and we did have a rep come and visit us at the event.