Son Rudra : HLA reports and search results on bethematch

• 2 Replies

Offline Mukta

Son Rudra : HLA reports and search results on bethematch
« on: October 02, 2015, 01:28:45 PM »
Friends ,

I just received my son's HLA reports few days back and my wife and me turnout to be only a 5/10 match for him. So our being a donor is ruled out unless we opt for Haploidentical approach of the mother being the donor.
I read on one of the forums about Andy sharing the bethematch link where I could lookup myself to see for any donors. The search results from bethematch are as below.
Since I have very little knowledge on this I am not sure how do I interpret these results and if these results show any positive signs for finding a donor. Can anyone please help me understand these results. I have approached my doc with the HLA reports but they have been very slow in responding  since last few days.

bethematch reults.

Results for the HLA type you entered:
A: 02:01:01G,11:01:01G B: 18:01:01G,39:06:02 C:07:02:01G,12:03:01G DRB1: 07:01:01,16:01:01

Be The Match Registry® Potential Adult Donors:
•   Potential matches at 8 of 8 HLA markers: 5
•   Potential matches at 7 of 8 HLA markers: 270
•   Potential matches at 6 of 8 HLA markers: 138

Be The Match Registry® Potential Cord Blood Units:
•   Potential matches at 6 of 6 HLA markers: 0
•   Potential matches at 5 of 6 HLA markers: 19
•   Potential matches at 4 of 6 HLA markers: 746

Offline Andy Battaglia

• Will thal rule you or will you rule thal?
Re: Son Rudra : HLA reports and search results on bethematch
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2015, 02:16:52 PM »
BMT carries risk for every patient, but without a good match, it should not even be considered. In my opinion, haploidentical BMT should not even be tried, except under Dr Sodani. Your best chance is to find an unrelated donor.
Andy

All we are saying is give thals a chance.

Offline Lokkhi maa

Re: Son Rudra : HLA reports and search results on bethematch